Meeting Sunday August 7, 2011

Beach Bench

Beach Bench

SIG Leader: John Krill, NOCCC #3160

I purchased a new camera this month. A Nikon D5100. Cost: $799.99. Includes a 18mm-55mm zoom lens, plus a camera bag. Not a bad deal at all. Actually it is a VERY good deal. I’ll explain why at the meeting.

Are you trying to decide on an entry level DSLR? You might start by checking out this video from B & H Photo Video. These cameras and others in the entry level DSLR category all vary in their features. Probably the hardest part in making your decision is to make a list of features you want in your camera. Of course price is probably at the top.

Chasing The Light by Ibarionex Perello.

I took on a book review last month and was surprised how mush I enjoyed the book. It’s not your usual how to book. He gets you to LOOK at your subject and see it in new ways. This is not a technical book but I really think you can improve your photos after reading the book. It doesn’t matter if you just take family photos or you’re a passionate landscape photographer you will benefit from the ideas in this book.

I may even use the book at future meetings. We’ll see.

There is one big negative with this book. I’ll talk about this at the meeting.

As always we will answer any and all questions.

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

Email: noccc.bgphotosig@gmail.com.

Added new Web location for the photos I take at the meeting. I now upload the photos I take to Microsoft SkyDrive. A link will be put here every month to the folder with that months photos.

SkyDrive Photos: Click this link for August 2011 Photos. (Link will be added after the meeting.)

Picasa Photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/noccc.bgphotosig

Leave a Reply

