April 2012 Meeting

April 2012 Meeting Beginner’s Digital Photography SIG
SIG Leader: John Krill #3160

NEW Room Science 131A: We have moved our meeting location from Science 127 to Science 131A. To repeat we will be meeting in Science 131A from now on. Science 131A is next door to Science 127.

QandA

Keep bringing in your questions. It really is the fun part of being a SIG Leader – answering question.

GPS And Your Photos

There are three ways you can acquire GPS information: A. Your camera has GPS and will insert GPS to your photos; B. Using a portable GPS tracker and later imbed GPS information into your photos; C. Using an application to enable you to manually imbed GPS into your photos.

My cameras do not have GPS and so I either have to imbed GPS manually using programs like Picasa that has mapping abilities or get a device that will record my trip and then allow me to use that data to embed GPS data into my photos.

I showed how easy it was to use Picasa to drag and drop images onto a map and thereby imbed the GPS data into the picture.

Having the GPS data in an image allows you to search for images using the mapping feature of Picasa.

For the May 2012 meeting I will demonstrate a little device called the PhotoTrackr. I will not take to much time with the dog and pony show and I will reveal my reason at the meeting.

Recording All Your Valuables With Your Digital Camera

I will be researching what we need to do in order to record all our personal or business valuables. This may include the proper way to photograph items, what detailed information is needed, and how and where to store this information.

So far I have not been able to get any information or tips on documenting your valuables with your camera. If any of you know of a web site that gives tips on documenting your valuables visually then let me know. Thanks.

iPhone Volunteer Needed

Anyone with an iPhone willing to give our SIG a short demonstration on using the camera in your phone?

Also – I’m Still Hoping That An Android Pad User Will Volunteer

I would like to demonstrate Adobe’s new Photoshop Touch App (http://tv.adobe.com/watch/adobe-touch-apps/what-is-adobe-photoshop-touch/) I will pay you to install the software App on your Android ($10.00). Any one interested?

Standard Stuff That Is Always In This Report

This report should be up on the SIG’s blog. I may go into greater detail and I will include screen shots as well.

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

Check out the SIG Blog for other information and maybe info on what we will discuss at the next meeting.

As always we will answer any and all questions.

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

We had 9 members at our SIG meeting.

See you at the next meeting.

Note: I am using a new Web location for the photos I take at the meeting. I now upload the photos I take to Microsoft SkyDrive. A link will be put here every month to the folder with that months photos.

SkyDrive Photos for the April 2012 Club Meeting: http://tinyurl.com/7luyfwx

PS: If you saw the actual link to the photos you would think it never ended. It’s the longest link I’ve ever had to deal with. Solution is the TinyURL web site. Give it a really long link and they give you a nice short one. That’s the link you see above.

SIG Blog: https://nocccbgphotosig.wordpress.com/

Email: noccc.bgphotosig@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

