June 2013 Beginning Digital Photography SIG Report

Jacaranda Tree In Bloom

Jacaranda Tree In Bloom

SIG Leader: John Krill #3160

Using Older LCD Projectors

My new laptop doesn’t have a VGA connector. It only has HDMI. The LCD projector doesn’t have HDMI. This meant I needed to get a converter from HDMI to VGA. I purchased one this month and the test was Sunday. It worked. Also the graphics in the laptop was smart enough to know that the resolution needed to be reduced for VGA and it matched the laptop to the LCD projector.

Now I need to remember to bring in my special audio cable and we can have sound as well.

Google+ Has A New Look

While showing some of the new features of Google+ I had seen just last week I was asked if the pictures in an album could be arranged in a specific order then shown as a slideshow? Yes you can. But when I tried I failed. What worked last week didn’t work Sunday. Turns out between last week and Sunday Google+ again changed the procedure. It’s really simple to do. Just select an album and then click the Organize button. Then just drag and drop the pictures into the order you want them. What we couldn’t do was change the settings for the slideshow. Basically you couldn’t set the duration for each photo to be seen on the screen.

I still say using Picasa in combination with Google+ is a great way to organize and share your photos.

Questions and Comments

Member Tip: One member needed to have some very small prints made so they could be used in a bracelet. Turns out all he had to do was go to his local photo store and they were able to make prints to the exact size needed. And the cost was small.

So if you have some weird print request don’t forget to check out the local photo store. They probably can deliver just what you need.

Smartphone Accessories: New products up popping up everyday. One member showed us a Web site (http://www.istabilizer.com) that has tripods and dollies for the iPhone. Seems that the smartphone is replacing the Point & Shoot camera.

Just do an image search for ‘iPhone Tripods’ and you will see hundreds of iPhone products.

Keep bringing in your questions. It really is the fun part of being a SIG Leader – answering question.

‘Guess Which Picture’ Challenge

I brought in two prints that were made with different cameras using different sensors and recording methods. The results of the comparison test is elsewhere on this blog.

July Meeting

We will take an extended look at Flickr. It’s changed but are the changes an improvement?

I still want to do a ‘Walk About.’ Didn’t I say that last month? Bring your camera and we’ll walk about and see what kind of picture taking problems we can find and maybe answer.

If you have specific picture taking problems then bring your camera and just maybe we can solve your problem.

Adobe Lightroom or A New SIG Maybe

I got so wrapped up in the Print Test that I forgot all about trying to start a new Lightroom SIG. No one showed up at Irvine Hall and complained about the lack of a meeting. So what follows is just a repeat of last month. I STILL want to try and get some kind of Lightroom SIG.

It will be at 12 Noon in Science 127. I plan to start at the very beginning and gradually go through the entire program in the coming months.

Or maybe only experienced Lightroom users will show up and we then can discuss just about anything related to Lightroom.

Or maybe it will be a little bit of both.

Sadly, for me, no one showed up for the May meeting. Maybe a little more publicity. Can’t give up yet.

If you’re interested in a Lightroom SIG then e-mail me at: noccc.bgphotosig@gmail.com

Standard Stuff That Is Always In This Report

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

Check out the SIG BLog for other information and maybe info on what we will discuss at the next meeting.

As always we will answer any and all questions.

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

We had 7 members at our SIG meeting.

See you at the next meeting.

Note: I am using a new Web location for the photos I take at the meeting. I now upload the photos I take to Microsoft SkyDrive. A link will be put here every month to the folder location with the current month’s photos.

SkyDrive Photos for the May 2013 Club Meeting: http://sdrv.ms/12ZdaNh

Email: noccc.bgphotosig@gmail.com

About The Picture

The tree is a Jacaranda. This one is on Temple Hills Dr. in Laguna Beach, Ca. This is attempt number two. Better.

Leave a Reply

