March 2014 Meeting Beginner’s Digital Photography SIG

Chapman Univserity

SIG Leader: John Krill #3160

We had 7 members at the meeting.

VHS To DVD or BlueRay

I, like many others, have VHS tapes that we would love to get converted to DVD and no longer worry about protecting VHS tapes. Plus getting rid of the hated VHS player is a plus. My first attempt at converting VHS to DVD involved using a program from ROXIO. This was back in 2012 and I only remember it being a completely frustrating job. All I remember is I just couldn’t get it to work. I packed it away and moved on to other fruitless projects.

Slow motion to 2014. I decide to try again but with a different VHS to DVD program. Back in 2013 I purchased another copy program from Amazon. It was discounted 50% so I purchased the program. Only problem was by 2013 my VHS player was dead and gone to the recycle bin. Back to present time. I got the loan of a VHS player from a friend and tried again to copy VHS to DVD. This time it was so easy a dummy could do it. And he did!

The program is called honestech VHS to DVD 5.0 Deluxe. There is two version of the program: One for dummies, like myself, that transfers directly from VHS to DVD or Blu-ray. The second utility will allow you to edit videos, make menus, etc.

The honestech web site is: http://www.honestech.com/main/index.asp

All I can tell you is the easy version works exactly as stated. How many computer programs will do that? Not many.

The rest of the meeting we talked about our own experiences getting VHS to DVD.

April Meeting

I want to show one or two youtube videos at the beginning of the meeting.

We will also demonstrate the honestech VHS to DVD utility.

Other than that I haven’t got a clue. Maybe by the weekend of the meeting I may have a glimmer of an idea. Let’s hope so. See you then.

PS: You have any ideas?

Standard Stuff That Is Always In This Report

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

Check out the SIG BLog for other information and maybe info on what we will discuss at the next meeting.

As always we will answer any and all questions.

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

See you at the next meeting.

Note: I am using a new Web location for the photos I take at the meeting. I now upload the photos I take to Microsoft OneDrive and Flickr. A link will be put here every month to the folder location with the current month’s photos.

OneDrive Photos for the March 2014 Club Meeting: http://tinyurl.com/msk6jl8

Flickr Photos for March 2014 Club Meeting: http://tinyurl.com/k7ksrg6

SIG BLog: https://nocccbgphotosig.wordpress.com/

Email: noccc.bgphotosig@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

