February 2015 Meeting Beginner’s Digital Photography SIG

Chapman University SIG Leader: John Krill #3160

We had 7 members at the meeting.

YouTube Video Of The Month

We didn’t show a video this month. You can still visit the SIG blog and click on John’s YouTube Playlist to view all the videos we have shown during the meetings and many more.

Cloud Printing Using Your Own Printer

One big question everyone had with the Chromebook was printing. Well folks I’m here to tell you it’s no big deal.

Google now has developed the software to print from just about any device to any printer that is setup to accept print jobs from that device. Here is the link at Google that explains everything.

https://www.google.com/cloudprint/learn/index.html, I was able to setup my photo printer to accept prints jobs from my Android tablet and it worked like a charm.

Once I get the Samsung Chromebook I will make sure one of our home printers, most likely the Black and White laser printer, for print jobs.

They also have printers on the market that can be used as a stand-alone printer requiring no computer. I just may get one of those.

Ain’t technology grand?

What Is Multi-Touch Screen

While showing examples of a daily email specials one of the items was a Dell laptop with a multi-touch screen. Multi-Touch is exactly what you do with your smartphone and tablet. This technology is now part of Windows 8.1.

User Questions

We spent most of the remaining time answering questions. It had been very encouraging that members are bringing in their questions. Keep them coming.

March Meeting

I will bring in my newly acquired Samsung 11” Chromebook and we will discuss what can be done with this machine as far as photography is concerned. I will continue to show one or two Youtube videos at the beginning of the meeting. We will discuss ISO. What is ISO? Maybe more slideshows? Anyone have some travel or family pictures to share? How about photos of children?

PS: You have any ideas?

Standard Stuff That Is Always In This Report

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

Check out the SIG BLog for other information and maybe info on what we will discuss at the next meeting.

As always we will answer any and all questions.

If you have a special request for information regarding digital photography let me know. E-mail me using the address listed below.

See you at the next meeting.

Where the Pictures From The Main Meeting Go To Die

Note: I am using a new Web location for the photos I take at the meeting. I now upload the photos I take to Microsoft OneDrive and flickr. A link will be put here every month to the folder location with the current month’s photos.

OneDrive: http://1drv.ms/1CqEsBH

flickr: http://tinyurl.com/pow28yq

SIG BLog: https://nocccbgphotosig.wordpress.com/

Email: noccc.bgphotosig@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

